Our Beers

Dominus

‘Of all the peoples of Gaul, the Belgians are the bravest.’ This pronouncement, made by Caesar at the height of his power, has been widely quoted ever since. At that time, Caesar, finding himself up against this immense bravery, asked one of his most loyal servants to find out the secret of this proud people. The answer, he discovered, was not any magic potion, but an extraordinary type of high-fermentation beverage known as an ‘abbey beer’.

Caesar immediately commanded that such a drink be produced in order to give his armies the same toughness and courage. To evade his enemies’ notice, he ordered that it should be brewed not at an abbey but at an unknown monastery.

Code-named ‘Dominus’, it was supposed to help Caesar’s armies gain control of Gaul. This monastic beer had exceptional effects, and very soon, the expression in vino veritas was superseded in the streets of Rome by in cervisia veritas.

Much later, monks belonging to the Order of Cistercians of the Strict Observance and attached to La Grande Trappe Abbey adopted the recipe for their own use. Today, Dominus is still brewed in accordance with the tradition which enabled Caesar to come, see and conquer the most formidable of adversaries. Dominus vobiscum !

  • Dominus Double/Dubbel

    An abbey beer in the purest monastic tradition. In full respect of its glorious past, it relinquishes in just a few sips ...

  • Dominus Triple/Tripel

    An abbey beer in the purest monastic tradition. Blessed with the knowhow of the monks, this triple with its dominant bitter ...

Nos bières

Dominus

"De tous les peuples de la Gaule, les Belges sont les plus braves." ? Cette formule déclarée par César du haut de sa toute puissance a fait le tour du monde. À l'époque, César, face à cette bravoure immense, demanda à l'un de ses plus fidèles serviteurs de percer le secret de ce peuple si fier. Le résultat de son enquête ne fut pas une quelconque potion magique, mais tout simplement un breuvage à haute fermentation extraordinaire : les Bières d'Abbaye.

Aussitôt, César ordonna qu'un tel breuvage soit réalisé pour procurer hardiesse et courage à ses armées. Afin de ne pas éveiller l'attention de ses ennemis, sa réalisation fut commandée non pas à une abbaye mais à un monastère inconnu.

Dominus en fut le nom de code, sensé aider les armées de César à dominer la Gaule. Cette Bière Monastique eu un effet exceptionnel, et très vite, dans les rues de Rome, l'expression In Vino Veritas fut remplacée par In Cervisia Veritas.

Bien plus tard, des moines apparentés à l'Ordre des Cisterciens de la Stricte Observance, rattachés à l'Abbaye de la Grande Trappe, reprirent la recette à leur compte. Aujourd'hui Dominus est toujours brassée dans le respect de la tradition qui permit à César d'aller, de voir et de vaincre les armées les plus redoutables. Dominus Vobiscum !

  • Dominus Double/Dubbel

    Une bière d’abbaye dans la plus pure tradition monastique. Respectueuse de son glorieux passé, elle évoque ...

  • Dominus Triple/Tripel

    Une bière d’abbaye dans la plus pure tradition monastique. Bénie du savoir-faire des moines, cette triple ...