Our Beers

Bourgogne des Flandres

The Van Houtryve brewing dynasty, made up of no fewer than three breweries, has left its mark on the Bruges brewing tradition. Records from 1765 mention a farm-brewery in Loppem belonging to Pierre-Jacques Van Houtryve. However, it was his son who obtained permission from the Provincial Executive of Flanders to set up brewing activities within the city walls of Bruges in 1825. This marked the birth of the ‘Den Os Brewery’.

On the eve of WWI, three members of the Van Houtryve family stood at the helm of their respective breweries: Den Os, La Marine and Ten Ezele. The fact that a single family had multiple breweries is unsurprising because the number of breweries in Bruges was at its peak during this period, with 34 operating breweries. Just two of these remain today. It was during this heyday just before WWI that the flagship beer of the Den Os Brewery first came into being. 

Bourgogne des Flandres is an authentic red-brown beer from West Flanders that survived the long-term competition from the enormously popular pilsners after WWI, as well as the destruction wrought during WWII that led to the definitive closure of the Den Os Brewery in 1957.

The recipe

From generation to generation

The recipe for Bourgogne des Flandres was passed on to other family breweries under the watchful eye of Michel Van Houtryve. In the 1980s, it ended up in the hands of the world’s oldest lambic brewery Timmermans, not far from Brussels, which was taken over by the John Martin Brewery in the 1990s.

With Anthony Martin at the helm of the company, Bourgogne des Flandres became part of the Finest Beer Selection and its reputation was reinstated with the creation of a new brewery just a stone’s throw from the original Den Os Brewery.

Bourgogne des Flandres

Bourgogne des Flandres (2) textuur uit achtergrond

 

beer-cat-bourgogneLa dynastie des brasseurs d’Houtryve marque de son sceau la tradition brassicole brugeoise avec pas moins de trois brasseries à son actif. Déjà en 1765, nous pouvions retrouver les traces d’une ferme-brasserie à Loppem appartenant à Pierre-Jacques Van Houtryve, mais c’est son fils qui obtiendra des États-Députés de Flandre l’autorisation de commencer, en 1825, à brasser à l’intérieur des remparts brugeois. La Brasserie Den Os était née. 

À l’aube de la Première Guerre mondiale, trois des membres de la famille Houtryve maniaient le fourquet dans leur brasserie respective Den Os, La Marine & Ten Ezele. Pas étonnant qu’à cette époque le nombre de brasseries culminait à Bruges avec 34 brasseries actives dont il n’en reste aujourd’hui plus que deux. C’est durant la période de gloire juste avant la Première Guerre mondiale que le cheval de bataille de la Brasserie Den Os vit le jour.

Avec la Bourgogne des Flandres, la Brasserie Den Os brassait une authentique bière rouge-brun de Flandre occidentale. A terme, elle parviendra toutefois à résister à la popularité énorme des pils après la Première Guerre mondiale et aux ravages causés lors de la Seconde Guerre. Malheureusement c’est après cette Deuxième Guerre, en 1957, que la Brasserie Den Os a fermé définitivement ses portes.

La recette. De génération en génération. 

La recette de la Bourgogne des Flandres est cependant transmise, sous l’œil attentif de Michel van Houtryve, à d’autres brasseries familiales. Elle finit dans les années 1980 entre les mains de la brasserie de lambic la plus ancienne du monde Timmermans.  Cette dernière sera ensuite reprise dans les années nonante par la Brasserie John Martin.

Sous la direction d’Anthony Martin, la Bourgogne des Flandres entre dans la Finest Beer Selection et retrouve aujourd’hui sa reconnaissance d’antan, grâce à l’édification d’une nouvelle brasserie à deux pas de la brasserie Den Os d’origine.